Good Bye 2015! Hello 2016!

Out with the old, in with the new! At least that’s how the saying goes. 
As we welcome 2016 in a couple of hours, this is the perfect time to reflect on a year that brought smiles, laughter, new friends, new experiences and yes…the dreadful experiences that we much rather have done without! But like the other saying goes – “everything happens for a reason!”

While I did not have any “defined” goals if you will, I did make a promise to myself that I would continue to grow, to be better than I was yesterday; to learn to listen, to be a better communicator, to acquire skills and tools to better aid me in my journey and in learning on how to deal with things that don’t always align with my path. I took on to on-line mind games, listening to motivational speakers and theorist, learned to meditate, learned to breathe with a purpose, and read and wrote a lot. 

There were a lot of happy times for me this past year, but truth be told – I encountered a lot of tough moments & losses – growing pains is how I describe those moments; learning to appreciate life is how I described the losses! Some I felt on the surface, others ran soul deep – but with each moment of pain came a moment of growth & understanding. What I eventually realized is that every time something tough came around, I knew how to handle. Each moment needed a different tactic. 

There was less internal pain, less anxiety, less stress…. less mind consuming thoughts and irrational emotions … The answers were always within, the skills and tools I learned helped me to cope! To be rational, to be empathetic, to process – allowing me to come up with answers and ideas and results driven by rationalism & thoughtful thought rather than answers inspired by anger, hurt, etc. Don’t get me wrong, I’m far from having perfected these skills, but I am better. 

Change happens from within. It’s a conscious choice. We do it for ourselves so that we can be happy; our internal happiness allows us to be happy for and with others. Like that other saying goes “you can’t make others happy if you’re not happy with self.” So true in every which way. Anything other than this leads to stress, resentment, uncontrollable thoughts, false hope, poor choices – at the end of the day, you’re setting yourself up for failure. 

I recently read a quote that read “let us not hope for more chance to change our story; let us summon the courage to change it ourselves! 

This quote resonated so deeply! Often we give chance after chance, allow situations to arise without any real resolution – often saying give it time, or I’ll deal with it some other time, or trying to justify it for reasons that truly don’t exist… It’s really because we are refusing to change – to live outside that comfort zone. 

Change is inevitable – but resistance to change is what keeps you in the back seat! We are the drivers on our journey, we are responsible for the choices and the actions we take and the consequences that arise – we are in control of our thoughts, our choices, decisions, emotions, lifestyle, stress, happiness… our smiles… our souls! 

This year I learned that I’m far from perfect, but I’m a pretty amazing woman – able to endure all, a woman of resiliency, triumph, a women who is able to forgive, accept, a woman willing to learn from her mistakes and imperfections. A woman open to growth: internal and external change. A woman willing to listen, capable of love & understanding – a woman with an entrepreneurial spirit – willing to go above and beyond for the people and causes she cares about & believes in. 

I learned that love is not unconditional but it comes pretty close to it! I learned that my heart is bigger than most, that my spirit is truly unbreakable and my soul, well my soul is flexible… 🌴 

As I prepare to welcome 2016, I will make a list of things I’d like to see happen… I will evaluate this list often. This list will allow me to stay focused, to continue to evolve, to explore, to live & to learn!  

A year of pure transformation is how I describe 2015! 

As I welcome 2016, I will view life with a different lens – seeing it clearer than I ever saw it before.  

Because I learned that life is truly bigger than us. That life will test every value, will pull every single hair on your body, challenge your limits, expand your brain, and widen your thoughts & perception. Life as I once knew it no longer exist and yet, I’m not scared! Excited if you will of all that awaits me in 2016 and years to come! 

An eternal optimist is how I describe me – seeing the bright lights at the end of the road!  

Humbled for the experiences, excited about the new and re-established friendships and forgiving of the friendships that no longer are! 

Blessed for all that is life: the good, the bad and the indifferent, for it really defines who we are! 

I’ve already decided that 2016 will be my year (as was every other year before). I will travel, love even harder, test the limits, live outside of my comfort zone and live freely and in the process I will dance and breathe…. 

Wishing you all continued growth, love, laughter, music, health and prosperity! 

   
  
    
 

2 thoughts on “Good Bye 2015! Hello 2016!

Leave a Reply

