Day # 5 – Reflection “What has been the hardest new habit for you to make part of your life this year?”

So the question asks “what was the hardest new habit for you to make part of your life this year?” “why did you choose to add the new habit to your life and how has it paid off?”

So this question was a really tough one because like many of the other questions and reflections, I’ve had to think really hard about this past year and all its messages and lessons!

So if I think back to this year and even the year before, I have to say that my new habit, which I’ve made an integral part of my life this year, is that of my mantra!

My mantra is “I am fierce and I am fearless”! Something my husband told me this year during my bout of unemployment!

I usually repeat my mantra over and over again at night. The night is usually one of my toughest moments because it’s a time when I am most relaxed, and my mind begins to race with what I like to often refer to as uncontrollable thoughts!

I find that the one thing that works for me, especially at night, is my repeating to myself my mantra.

I say it over and over and over again, and in between, I trying to really listen to my breaths, as well as try to listen to the sound of my heartbeat.

I suppose it’s a cross between saying my mantra and meditating – but at the end of the day, it’s really learning how to balance, how to focus, and how to take a step back and just relax!

How has it paid off! Well for starters, I get to sleep more peacefully at night.

I also feel it’s paid off because I know that I can control my thoughts; that it no longer needs to consume me!

I wrote about mantra’s & Buddhism some time ago – it’s importance and how significant the practices are in bringing balance & peace to an otherwise busy & hectic day or life!

I am glad for my mantra!

One thought on “Day # 5 – Reflection “What has been the hardest new habit for you to make part of your life this year?”

  1. Pingback: Loss of Balance | medicinalmeadows

Leave a Reply

