“Sometimes self-deception can be therapeutic”

#Nolan @Revenge “Sometimes self-deception can be therapeutic”

The moment I heard the character Nolan on ABC’s Revenge spit out those words, I immediately wipped out my Iphone’s notepad and jotted it down and tweeted it so as to never forget the words that spoke volumes to me….

Self-deception can be therapeutic….wow! How true is this?

I can think of a time I told myself I looked smoking hot in my bikini, despite the muffin top…lol…but really, in my eyes, I was beautiful! Therapeutic to me, not so much to the girls with six-packs laying pool side….oh well!! (joke)

But seriously, can you think of a time you’ve convinced yourself of something just to massage your ego? To help you relax, to help you get through…but deep down inside you know that “owning the issue” is the better path!

Is this the same as lying to yourself and being so good at it that you begin to believe your own lies; hence it becomes therapeutic??

Hmm… Nolan’s phrase was so deep!

I think about it a month in a half later as I lay in my bed, half-prepping for a 2nd interview (I say half because I’m writing this when I’m suppose to be prepping)….

Self-deception (with the help of my dictionary that sits so conveniently in my night stand….dang, I love that book) is defined as:

“Self-deception is a process of denying or rationalizing away the relevance, significance, or importance ….. Self-deception involves convincing oneself of a truth (or lack of truth) so that one does not reveal any self-knowledge of the deception……”

How many of us have done this for one reason or another?

My only thought is, isn’t this more damaging in the long run? At the end of the day, you’re fooling no one but yourself ~

20130518-094752.jpg

One thought on ““Sometimes self-deception can be therapeutic”

  1. Pingback: Who’s Behind Media Deceptions? | sambhalkezabaan

Leave a Reply

