I Will Always Dream

I Will Always Dream

“Dreams are the touchstones of our character” – Henry David Thoreau

I dream while I am asleep and I dream while I am awake (not during working hours of course!) I dream a lot – I am definitely a dreamer!

Maybe I dream because I am an analytical thinker. Maybe it’s because I have a hard time letting go or maybe it’s because I want so much and some of what I want is out of my reach! Maybe it’s out of fear. Maybe it’s because my brain is being under-utilized. Maybe I’m still a kid stuck in a 40 year old body with a vivid imagination! Hmmm….

I did some “minor” research on the internet and came across an article where the research was already done – here’s what I read:

1) In his famous book The Interpretation of Dreams, Sigmund Freud wrote that dreams are “…disguised fulfillments of repressed wishes.”

2) J. Allen Hobson, a theorist, suggests that dreaming is “our most creative conscious state” and “while many or even most of these ideas may be nonsensical, if even a few of its fanciful products are truly useful, our dream time will not have been wasted.”

The theories on dreams are plentiful, none are scientifically proven but all make logical sence.

I woke up abruptly this morning after dreaming with my father. In the dream, he spoke some words to me in English and gave me the tightest hug after I told him “papi, I missed you, I haven’t seen you in a long time, give me a hug”. I woke up feeling his tight hug, his body. I heard his voice – clearly…. I laid awake and I cried…

I cried because it felt so real, so vivid. It’s been 18 years since I last felt my father’s tight hug; it was my wedding day. It’s been a little over 17 years since I heard his voice…

I cry as I write and share because despite the time that has gone by since I last touched and heard him, the fact remains that a girl can always use her daddy’s hug! He wasn’t much of a hugger, but in my dreams and in my heart, he just made up for 17 years!

Dreams are powerful and maybe they are my repressed wishes, but I tell you one thing – they aren’t wasted! I enjoy my dreams, look forward to what awaits me once I shut my eyes.

If you’re lucky enough to dream, to remember those dreams and to feel them and maybe interpret them – then I offer you KUDOS!

Hug those you love for that is what lives on in their dreams ~

Dream on ~

20130420-105146.jpg

Leave a Reply

