Hate that you care so much?

Hate that you care so much?

Yeah, me too! I hate that I dwell on things or care so much about things (people, situations) that are either insignificant or out of my control.

The saying goes that “you should let go – let it be, life goes on”. I think we could all appreciate that this is, most often than not, a lot easier said than done. Yes, life does go on and eventually the feelings or thoughts disapate, but dealing with it in the now, that’s the tough part.

I tried doing some research on it and it seems that there is a consensus out there on this topic….the final answer… “this is just who you are”. Perhaps it’s in your genetic make-up to love and care hard, perhaps there are some codependency issues that keep you holding on/caring too much – whatever it is, you need to figure it out for yourself.

If it’s codependency – I found this flyer on line; it’s pretty dated, but the information may be a 1st step to getting you on the right path:

http://www.gencmh.org/Portals/0/Training/Prevention%20Pubs/Codependency.pdf

For me, well, I have to admit that it’s a little codependency, but moreso my thought process. How I interpret information, issues, how I define love, relationships, etc.

Truth be told – I love hard, I care even harder, I am compassionate and giving, and what others think of me – does in fact matter to me. You may say “grow some thick skin Lanette”… Well my answer is “I am still growing (skin)”. Still learning about me, about others. The act of caring and letting go may come easy to some, but for me, it just doesn’t come that easy.

I do know that time heals all wounds, that life does go on and dwelling or living in the moment (when the moment has already pased) is not the best thing. I realize that caring too much can be harmful to your psyche – thank God for blogging – lol

I guess at the end of the day, this is who I am and no matter how much I want to walk away from those feelings of caring too much about things or people who are really insignificant in my life – I guess the best course of action is to let the feelings take its course! Like I said before, it really does get easier….

PS – by insignificant I mean that they no longer have a place in your life. Maybe at some point they helped you get through a tough time, they were once your friend, they were “significant”. But now, in this chapter of your life, they just don’t belong, there is no room, hence why I use “insignificant”

Remember, you need to define for yourself who or what is insignificant and slowly let go, reminding yourself why it or him/her is insignificant.

There really is a time and a place for everything. People come in and out of our lives for a reason. Capture the reason and then let it go!

20130328-102103.jpg

Leave a Reply

